About The Institute


National President: Marc Schniederjans, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

National President-Elect: Morgan Swink, Texas Christian University

National Past President: Maling Ebrahimpour, University of South Florida, St. Petersburg

The Decision Sciences Institute (DSI) is a multidisciplinary, international association dedicated to advancing knowledge and improving instruction in all business and related disciplines. To pursue this mission, the Institute will facilitate the development and dissemination of knowledge in the diverse disciplines of the decision sciences through publications, conferences, and other services. Through national, international and regional meetings, competitions, and publications--such as the journals, Decision Sciences Journal (DSJ), and the Decision Sciences Journal of Innovative Education (DSJIE)--the Institute provides an international forum for presenting and sharing research in the study of decision processes across disciplines, in both traditional and emerging areas of study. Specifically, the Institute seeks to define the scope of quantitative methods to functional and behavioral problems of administration and the degree of sophistication that should be achieved by graduates of collegiate schools of business administration.


President: Hamdi Bilici, California State University, Long Beach

President-Elect: Debbie Gilliard, Metropolitan State University of Denver

Program Chair/Vice President for Programs/Proceedings Editor: John Bell, University of Tennessee

Vice President for Programs-Elect: Natasa Christodoulidou, California State University, Dominguez Hills

Vice President for Member Services: Albert Huang, University of the Pacific

Secretary/Treasurer: Sheldon Smith, Utah Valley University

Director of Information Systems: Nafisseh Heiat, Montana State University, Billings

Immediate Past President: David Yen, SUNY Oneonta

The Western Decision Sciences Institute (WDSI) is a regional division of the Decision Sciences Institute (DSI). WDSI serves its interdisciplinary academic and business members primarily through the organization of an annual conference and sponsorship of the Journal of Business and Management. The WDSI Conference and the Journal allow academicians and business professionals from around the world to share information and research with respect to all aspects of education, business, and organizational decisions.


2013-2014 David C. Yen, SUNY Oneonta
2012-2013 Sheldon Smith, Utah Valley Universirty
2011-2012 John Davies, Victoria University, Wellington
2010-2011 Nafisseh Heiat, Montana State University-Billings
2009-2010 Mahyar Amouzegar, California State University, Long Beach
2008-2009 G. Keong Leong, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
2007-2008 Vijay R. Kannan, Utah State University
2006-2007 Bruce Raymond, Montana State University
2005-2006 Cynthia Pavett, University of San Diego
2004-2005 Miles G. Nicholls, RMIT University
2003-2004 Krishna S. Dhir, Berry College
2002-2003 Eldon Y. Li, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
2001-2002 Paul Mallette, Colorado State University
2000-2001 Marc Massoud, Claremont McKenna College
1999-2000 Karen L. Fowler, University of Northern Colorado
1998-1999 Richard L. Jenson, Utah State University
1997-1998 Thomas E. Callarman, Arizona State University
1996-1997 George A. Marcoulides, California State University, Fullerton
1995-1996 Joseph R. Biggs, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
1994-1995 Kathy L. Pettitt-O'Malley, University of Idaho
1993-1994 Howard R. Toole, San Diego State University
1992-1993 Terrel G. Williams, Western Washington University
1991-1992 V. V. "Kris" Bellur (decesased), California State University, Bakersfield
1990-1991 John C. Rogers, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
1989-1990 V. Lyman Gallup, Boise State University
1988-1989 Shannon V. Taylor, Montana State University
1987-1988 Patrick W. Shannon, Boise State University
1986-1987 Michael F. O'Neil, California State University, Chico
1985-1986 Bert M. Steece, University of Southern California
1984-1985 John P. Dickson, University of Puget Sound
1983-1984 Daniel Brooks, Arizona State University
1982-1983 Michael Geurts, Brigham Young University
1981-1982 Pieter Vandenburg, San Diego State University
1980-1981 C. R. Michael Parent, Utah State University
1979-1980 Steven D. Wood, Arizona State University
1978-1979 Jim D. Barnes (deceased), California State University, Bakersfield
1977-1978 Paul Baum, California State University, Bakersfield
1976-1977 James E. Reinmuth, University of Oregon
1975-1976 William T. Newell, University of Washington
1974-1975 Charles P. Bonini, Stanford University
1973-1974 William R. Sherrard, San Diego State University
1972-1973 Robert Childress, University of Southern California
1971-1972 Manfred W. Hopfe, California State University, Sacramento